Saturday, 25 January 2014

The Best Australian Deathrock Releases of 2013

Rule of Thirds – s/t
5 piece goth/punk band from Adelaide.

Nervous Trend – Demo cassette
Punk/goth/post-punk band from Perth.

Lakes – Blood of the Grove
Post punk/folk from Melbourne.

Occults – s/t
Goth/deathrock/swamp rock from Brisbane.

Masses – Demo cassette
4 piece post punk/anarcho/dark wave band from Melbourne. 

Also worth a mention is Bat Nouveau's "What Has Been Now" which was released in late 2012.
Bat Nouveau are goth/deathrock band from Brisbane.

 Written by DJ Xerstorkitte

Wednesday, 22 January 2014

DJ Xerstorkitte - Track of the Week

“Eisbär” (Ice Bear) by the Dark Shadows is a cover version of Grauzone’s 1981 cult hit song.

The Dark Shadows are an all female 3 piece band from Sydney, Australia. They have toured throughout Australia, USA, UK, Europe & Japan playing alongside Skeletal Family, Christian Death and many more. The Dark Shadows have also appeared at international festivals including Wave Gotik Treffen (WGT) & Whitby Gothic Weekend UK.

 I've been playing this track whilst DJ’ing at clubs in various states over Australia and so far, it has been very well received. It’s the kind of song that after listening, you’ll find yourself humming along a few days later!

“Eisbär” is available on the new LP "Autumn Still" through the official website

Be sure to check out our full review of the album, coming soon to 1334Bats!